You are viewing froglartbge

Manga Recon

Recent Entries

You are viewing the most recent 12 entries.

10th July 2010

5:29pm: A Manga-Ka's Apartment
From the book Tokyo, A Certain Style. Text and photographs by Kyoichi Tsuzuki. First published in Japan in 1997. Click the small images to see 'em larger. Bonus points if you can guess who's room it is (we don't know).



More images under the cutCollapse )
5:19pm: Noooo!! BOOM!!
From Even a Monkey Can Draw Manga:

5th March 2009

2:15pm: Manga Recon Show #009: Schedule of a Weekly MangaKa
Direct Download:

OP & ED: Theme from Blazing Transfer Student, "Blazing Transfer Student" by Toshihiko Seki.


View Larger


Manga Adaptations Discussion:
- Haruhi Suzumiya
- InuKami
- .hack//XXXX
- Gurren Lagan

- Family Complex has a great description of eye surgery, couched in a very boring regular story. Here's my review.

- Peach Pit was hospitalized recently
- Who is Kazuo Koike?

more images under the cutCollapse )
Burning Pen! Screaming Pen! Blue Flame!
by Kazuhiko Shimamoto
http://users.skynet.be/mangaguide/au1729.html</center>

Blog post about the horizontal gutters being wider than the vertical gutters in manga.

I was talking about good and bad paneling examples from One Pound Gospel and S.A.. I can't find the S.A. example, but here's a nice sequence from One Pound Gospel:

more images under the cutCollapse )

Mr. X talks about Mampu

more images under the cutCollapse )
Hikaru No Go paneling where the "camera" is placed below the board. In this sequence, Akira is playing Go on the internet.</center>

I mention the School of Visual Arts. (Pratt is also good.)

Unimpressive art in an autobiographical comic that made all the critics' top ten lists:
more images under the cutCollapse )

In Japan, a bad run is a circulation of 50,000. In the U.S. a great circulation for manga is 5,000 - even though we've got four times the population.

The Yasha Craig Ape is from Grappler Baki.

Link to AWO's coverage of Lady Snowblood. It's at 37:28 - 57:52 in their show.

Kochikame has been around forever!

What are ikimen?

Bakuman

17th September 2008

9:33pm: Manga Recon Show #008: YaoiCast #002 [Explicit 18+]
Direct Download:

OP: "Lookin' Cute / Feelin' Cute" by Gay Pimp
ED: "Fa***ty Attention" by Adam Joseph

This entry is cross-posted is cross-posted to the mangacast.

0:55-8:15 - Picnic as reviewed by Kate
8:15-9:58 - Can't Win With You - excerpt read by Gina
9:58-13:55 - Same Cell Organism as reviewed by Kari
13:55-14:28 - Brief mention of Little Crybaby by me
14:28-25:30 - Say Please reviewed as reviewed by Alison, with a discussion of rape in manga



All of these titles are recommended, except Little Crybaby, which was terrible.

13th August 2008

12:08am: Manga Recon Show #008: YaoiCast #001 [Explicit 18+]
Direct Download:


This entry is cross-posted will be cross-posted to the mangacast.


0-10:25 - "Only the Ring Finger Knows" - the manga, reviewed by Clio
10:25-14:00 - uke and seme types
14:00- "Desire" reviewed by Gina
16:20 - More BL terms
19:41 - "Rising Storm" reviewed by Z.

Covers below the cutCollapse )

BL terms:
Bobuge = BL game
Chikiku Seme = demonic seme (very violent)
DiveIn = well thats self explanitory
GataiUke = replacement uke (a narcissistic uke who wants to replace anoher uke. they often have similar features to the uke they are rivals with).
JKin = characters that look like those from Johnny's boys bands
Kemoshota = animals with little boys
Kentauros = dogboys/catboys/rabbit-boys...
Nyotaika = characters that obviously look like women
Riba = role reversal manga (uke and seme switch)
RoboYaoi = sci-fi BL with mecha
SasoiUke = an uke from a normal background that captures the heart of a superior seme
Souke / Souseme = ideal uke/seme or obviously one or the other
Yaora = yaoi lover (doesn't read BL sticks to doujinshi)

24th April 2007

11:16pm: Manga Recon Show #007 - King of Editors
Direct Download:

This entry is cross-posted on the mangacast.

King of Editors


Henshuu Ou
Hensyuo?
by Tsuchida Seiki 土田世紀



Panels we talked about on the show.


If you only want to hear future Manga Recon podcasts, you can subscribe to this feed:

13th October 2006

11:49am: Manga Recon Show #006
Direct Download:

This entry is cross-posted on the mangacast.

These reviews are also posted (in text form) on my "Manga Recon" column on Popcultureshock.com

Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life, Volumes 1 & 2

by Bryan Lee O'Malley
Published by Oni Press

Who Would Like This Book: Fans of Love Roma and American indy comics lovers who think that most indy comics are too depressing.
Who Would Hate This Book: Hardcore hipster haters - but even then they might like it.

Robot: Super Color Comic


works selected by Range Murata
Digital Manga Publishing

Who Would Like This Book: Otaku who are not overly concerned with narrative.
Who Would Hate This Book: Your parents, so don't leave it laying around the house.

Ultra Cute, Volume 1

by Nami Akimoto
Tokyopop

Who Would Like This Book: 4th-6th grade girls.
Who Would Hate This Book: Boys, and also me.

Dokebi Bride, Volume 1

by Marley
Published by NETCOMICS

Who Would Like This Book: Anyone interested in reading manhwa that is really Korean in nature, and not just a pale imitation of Japanese fantasy manga.
Who Would Hate This Book: Really harsh art critics.

My regular podcast is the Ninjaconsultant podcast, which you can subscribe to here:

If you only want to hear future Manga Recon podcasts, you can subscribe to this feed:

11th April 2006

11:42am: Manga Recon Show #005
Manga Recon Show #005 Direct Download:

This entry is cross-posted on the mangacast.

These reviews are also posted (in text form) on my "Manga Recon" column on Popcultureshock.com You can direct complaints and discussion to this forum thread.

These reviews are made possible by Pop Culture Shock, (also known as Buzzscope) which is loosely associated with Midtown Comics.

These reviews were written and read by ninjaconsultant:

Darkside Blues

Story by Hideyuki Kikuchi
Art by Yuho Ashibe

ADV Manga

The movie was imported by US Manga Corps
Loveless volume 1

Yun Kouga

Tokyopop
Aria

Kosue Amano

ADV Manga

The anime series is not yet available in North America
Happy Mania

Moyoco Anno

Tokyopop
Pastel

Toshihiko Kobayashi

Del Ray


Other Mentions:

Music/Sound Clips:
  • "Jump in the Line" by Harry Belafonte, from the Harry Belafonte: Greatest Hits CD
  • Why Harry Belafonte? Because of this AMV.
  • Audio clips from the Darkside Blues movie.
  • "Master and Servant" by Depeche Mode

  • "Rainbow" by ROUND TABLE feat. Nino, the end theme of Aria the Animation.
  • "Sex in the City" theme song, possibly by Douglas J. Cuomo
  • Audio clips from the most excellent American Astronaut movie. Also check out the soundtrack by the Billy Nayer Show, since it is a sci-fi western musical.

My regular podcast is the Ninjaconsultant podcast, which you can subscribe to here:

10th February 2006

12:55pm: Manga Recon Show #004
Manga Recon Show #004 Direct Download:

This entry is cross-posted on the mangacast.

These reviews are also posted (in text form) on my "Manga Recon" column on Buzzscope.com You can direct complaints and discussion to this forum thread.

These reviews are made possible by Buzzscope, which is loosely associated with Midtown Comics.

These reviews were written and read by mr_cutiepants:

Angel Diary volume 1

Kara Lee YunHee

Ice Kunion
Saint Marie volume 1

Yang Yeo-Jin

ADV Manga
MeruPuri volume 1

Matsuri Hino

Shojo Beat Manga


My regular podcast is the Ninjaconsultant podcast, which you can subscribe to here:

If you only want to hear future Manga Recon podcasts, you can subscribe to this feed:

7th December 2005

12:12am: Manga Recon Show #003
Manga Recon Show #003 Direct Download:

This entry is cross-posted on the mangacast.

These reviews are also posted (in text form) on my "Manga Recon" column on Buzzscope.com You can direct complaints and discussion to this forum thread.

These reviews are made possible by Buzzscope, which is loosely associated with Midtown Comics.

My regular podcast is the Ninjaconsultant podcast, which you can subscribe to here:

If you only want to hear future Manga Recon podcasts, you can subscribe to this feed:

I wrote reviews of the following books, and the reviews were read by ali_wildgoose:

Dramacon volume 1

Svetlana Chmakova (svetlania)

Tokyopop
Comic Party volume 4

Sekihiko Ino

Tokyopop
Brother volume 1

Yuzuha Ougi

One Drama Queen
The Young Magician volume 1

Narushima Yuri

CMX

17th November 2005

9:20am: Manga Recon Show #002
Manga Recon Show #002 Direct Download:

This entry is cross-posted on the mangacast.

These reviews are also posted (in text form) on my "Manga Recon" column on Buzzscope.com

These reviews are made possible by Buzzscope, which is loosely associated with Midtown Comics.


My regular podcast is the Ninjaconsultant podcast, which you can subscribe to here:

If you only want to hear future Manga Recon podcasts, you can subscribe to this feed:

I wrote reviews of the following books, and the reviews were read by ali_wildgoose:

Tokyo Boys and Girls volume 1

Miki Aihara

Shojo Beat Manga
The Devil Does Exist volume 1

Takanashi Mitsuba

CMX
Lady Snowblood volume 1

Kazuo Koike and Kazuo Kamimura

Dark Horse
Cromartie High School volume 3

Eiji Nonaka

ADV Manga

5th November 2005

9:30pm: Manga Recon Show #001
Manga Recon Show #001 Direct Download:

I've made this entry to cross-post on mangacast, and I fully intend to, just as soon as I can figure out how Feedburner works.

These reviews are also posted on my "Manga Recon" column on Buzzscope.com, and I've pretty much read them straight from the column, but I have added the occasional audio note here and there. Buzzscope is loosely associated with Midtown Comics, which is right here in the heart of New York City.

I hope to have some kind of MangaRecon feed where if you really like MangaRecon, you can just subscribe to that. I intend to include all the manga reviews as regular Ninja Consultant shows, unless I get a ton of complaints or something.

Also, sorry to Andrew - your interview will be later than ever, and for those of you waiting for part three of David Ng... maybe this weekend I'll put another show up? We'll see what happens.

Here's the manga I reviewed:

Love Roma

Minoru Toyoda

Del Ray
Pieces of a Spiral

Tachibana Kaimu

CMX
Ouran High School Host Club

Bisco Hatori

Shojo Beat
Tenjo Tenge, Volume 3

Oh! Great

CMX
The Wallflower, Volume 1

Tomoko Hayakawa

Del Ray
The Wallflower, Volume 2

Tomoko Hayakawa

Del Ray



Comment on this show.

Powered by LiveJournal.com